Archives

I need you

I need you! I need you in my life for so many reasons. I need you to keep me grounded, I need you to keep me sane. I need you to make me laugh and I need your laughter in return. I need your quirks, without them you wouldn't be you. I need your mistakes, they make you who you are today. I need your talent and your unique trains of thought, without them it would all turn out the same. I need your compassion and sometimes I need your kick in my ass, what an idiot I would be without that! I need your opinions, good or bad, how can we make decisions without them? I need your beliefs, although they may not agree with mine, they are needed to round out a fulfilling life. I need your company, without it I would be very lonely. I need your creativity, sometimes I am too tired to think at all. I need you, the whole you, the good and the bad. I accept you as you are, you are amazing!


To all my amazing friends and family, thank you for giving me what I need! I love you all.

Down with the sickness....

Over the weekend, my baby started coming down with a cold. Runny nose, chesty cough etc... Some of you know, she is a COMPLETE Mommy's girl. She's the kid I can never put down, no one else can hold her if I'm within 50 feet or all you get is crying and screaming. It's very tiring and a little overwhelming at times. As she got sicker over the weekend, the Mommy suckiness amped up about 25 notches. Now I can't get her to stop crying even if I am holding her. Thank goodness for motrin!!!! As the baby was sick, I kept the big girl home on Monday as she was coughing a bit too, turns out she seemed to be ok by bedtime last night. Until 2am that is!!!!!!


2 am, I'm woken up by the bright lights of my ensuite and lots of crying. I crack an eye and ask what's wrong. Through the crying I understand that her tummy hurts and she threw up in her hair. It doesn't look bad from bed so I tell her to come and crawl in with me. No Mommy! She says, there's lots of throw up in my hair. So I crawl out of bed and have a look, sure enough I can't even see hair. So into the shower she goes. The screaming and the crying that ensued, my goodness! Mommy, my everything hurts, Mommy it's hot, crying, crying, crying. I finally tell her she has to calm down because I can't understand her and she's screaming. I get her all washed up and in a warm towel while I go and hunt down a clean pair of jammies. I took the opportunity to go and check her room. BIG MISTAKE at that time of night. It was everywhere! EVERYWHERE!! All I could do was make sure the kitten wasn't in there and shut the door tightly! OK, new jammies on, dry kid and cuddled into bed with me. That lasts about 10 minutes. She's off again, both ends poor thing. Another new pair of jammies on the way! This continues every 30-50 minutes all through the night. She did fall asleep and started puking in her sleep all over MY bed this time. Good heavens!! (At least it was only the water she drank after the last episode) By 4:30 she's telling me she wants to go to school in the morning, to this I just snicker and try to sleep again. By 7 am it seems to have stopped, she's up and at 'em wanting to watch tv. I told her she was banned from her room until later.

After a coffee and some breakfast, I put more motrin into the baby and plug my nose on my way into the big kids room. GAG! I cannot believe the amount of wash I need to do. The bedding, the pillows, the stuffed animals, the carpet, and then my room, the bedding, the sheets and on and on we go.. I am 5 loads in to the mess right now and still have another 5 or so to go. Hopefully my machine holds up!

I forgot to mention that throughout this whole night, DH doesn't even crack an eyelid to ask if all is well. No offer in the morning to take the baby so I can get some sleep. No nothing. In my next life, I want the Daddy pass to doing nothingness.

At least the baby slept well........

Category: ,   2 Comments
7 years?

Alright, I am not sure who broke the mirror, but it wasn't me I swear!!


I have not blogged in a while because it's been a REALLY bad couple of weeks. I didn't want this page to become a sob story for me with nothing but negative posts, but it seems I have no choice because it's been a lot of negative lately : (
We have suffered through 4 layoffs in the last two years. Normally, DH gets laid off almost every year in the fall and normally it's no big deal as he's a tradesman and usually has something else right away. Me however, have been laid off twice in the last two from two different builders during our lovely recession. The first time was ok, I had something within the month. The second time however, I was 5 months pregnant with no hopes of lying my way in to a new position to just leave a few months later. So I had to take my maternity leave early, no hopes of saving up money when that happens. Then, DH gets laid off in September! Great! But....... he only just recently finally found a position. Needless to say, things are months behind and everyone wants their money! On top of all that, DH was in an accident in 2001. Long story short, the gov't just decided that he has to pay $9000 for that accident, really? Now? They are ruthless about it too, taking his license until we figure out a payment plan. I asked her how she wants to get paid, pocket lint or smiles? All in all, it's a lot of money that keeps coming down the pipes. I mean a lot!

Seriously, it's been a long time with a lot of bad luck and I'm not sure why. I don't think we are bad people, I don't think we have done anything to deserve the "goes around, comes around". It's really becoming disheartening. The only good things right now are our girls. They make the world go around, too bad they can't work! LOL

So, there's a bit of my sob story, woe is me and all that. But it's off my chest now at least a little bit and we'll keep trying to forge ahead. Anyone win the lottery lately? Any rich Aunts on there way out? LOL